A Letter to Mom & Dad

Written night of 1/14/16

It’s late. I’m exhausted. Actually, quite fed up. However, I need to write. Sleep is just a means of escaping a problem. But the minute that alarm buzzes my shoulders are heavy once again. Now writing, it lets me unload. The burden of decision removed and put in its rightful place so I can rest.

God knows how complacent I was in my mid-teens. I could have been a more…compliant child. The decisions they’ve had to make on a normal basis that could ultimately affect the outcome of their progeny’s lives.

21, alone, fighting the struggle. Two immigrants whose paths somehow crossed. And before ‘two children later’ they were already trying to prevent us from ever struggling. Didn’t they know life wouldn’t be so simple?

21, living on her own, fighting a different struggle. Now she asks herself if she can properly ‘ADULT’*.

I’m tired. I’m going to sleep. But before that I must say:

Mom…Dad…,

I’ve never understood more of what you’ve been through until now. I’m oh so very blessed to have you. And I hope with each passing year Samir and I get to see the both of you continue to live the lives you’ve always dreamed of.

                          Love, 

                               Your Daughter

 

* Adulting(v): A noun which is now used as a verb to refer to doing grown-up things and holding responsibilities such as, a 9-5 job, a mortgage/rent, a car payment, or anything else that one thinks grown-ups do. Source: Urban Dictionary

If you are also having trouble ‘ADULTING’ please feel free to watch the video below on the introduction of different topics that would provide guidelines on how to improve your skills.

Disclaimer: I do not necessarily agree with all methods that Emma and Mike advise towards such delicate topics introduced in adulthood. I am merely providing comic relief.

Leave a Reply

