In Spite of the Tribe

…تزوّجتني
رغم أنفَ القبيلةْ

.. وسافرتْ معي 
.. رغم انف القبيلةْ

..وأعطتنْي زينبَ وعُمَرْ
.. رغم أنف القبيلةْ

وعندما كنتُ أسألُها : لماذا؟ 
كانت تأخُذُني كالطفل إلى صدرها 
(وتُتَمْتِمْ:(لأنكَ انت قبيلتي

She married me, in spite of the tribe;

and she travelled with me, in spite of the tribe.

She gave me Zeynab and Omar, in spite of the tribe.

And when I used to ask her why,

She would take me against her chest like a child,

And she would mutter,

“Because you are my tribe.”

-N. Qabbani

Leave a Reply

